DESTINY

Is there such a thing as destiny_ Are we in bondaYears back, Buju Banton’s ”Destiny” hit the airwaves as strong as any conscious music could possibly do. For me it remains one of his greatest hits, and even as I type this, it’s playing in the background somewhere in my head.

I’m not about the song per se, but rather about the subject of the song, ‘Destiny’. It’s one topic that over time has intrigued mankind. I doubt we could ever come to terms with the fact that our activities and what’ll become of them are predestined, regardless of our efforts to will them otherwise.

Destiny presupposes that we may not get what we want, no matter how hard we work at it just ‘cos we aren’t destined for it. History is replete with tales of those who died in pursuit of what they were supposedly not destined for, sometimes right at the door of their utmost desires.

It’s the presence of what might seem to be evidence of the acts of destiny that make it almost impossible to overlook when it concerns the affairs of men.

Interestingly, it also appears that just sitting idly will not help destiny, hence Macbeth had to commit murder to aid the fulfillment of prophesies made concerning him by the three witches.

It then presupposes that destiny like skeletons need to be ‘fleshened’ to make it fully animated. Destiny may also help in helping us ‘let go’ and not remain fixated on impossibilities.

It becomes very confusing now because you may then (based on the above) ask a General Muhammadu Buhari Rtd, to stop trying out for Nigeria’s presidency having attempted thrice and with age no longer on his side, but on the other side you may be seen as a loser because if your history serves you well you will know that Abraham Lincoln made several unsuccessful attempts at gaining political office before he became president of the United States (and some will contend that he would have lived longer had he not won that office, but he could also have died earlier had he not been president too, probably while fighting in the civil war as a soldier, officer or civilian as collateral damage).

You just can’t win for or against destiny, and the best way to look at things is to make the best of what life throws at us, and refuse to be bugged down by what we think our destiny is.

It’s become culture in the world today to seek the help of clairvoyance, diviners, pastors, imams and the likes, to put mind at rest concerning vague aspects of life, but these people (if they truly ‘see’) see only a fraction of the whole that makes the entire man. You just need to hear some of the prophesies of Apollo’s Oracle at Delphi in ancient Greece to understand the otiosity of embarking on a search for insights into one’s future in the first place.

Reminds me of the story of the wealthy African chief that was told he’d die in a flying machine. He simply decided never to travel by air again, however soon after he visited the diviner, he was involved in an accident where the car he was travelling in atop a bridge suddenly swerved over the barriers into the lagoon below and before help could reach him and his chauffeur, he was dead.

‘kovich

2 thoughts on “DESTINY

  1. I made frantic efforts to gain admission to read medicine. After initial attempts, I made my complete WAEC papers in one sitting, wrote JAMB and without adequate preparation, got 225 marks. I was convinced I would make it soon but alas! There were so many distrations including coming under paid employment and tasting money, then dependence from relatives and close friends. I didn’t actually realise when I gave up that drive. Years later, after graduating as best student with distinction from my HND programme, I felt I could have continued the medical chase and forgo work. Lately, I feel it wasn’t my destiny to become DR. Although, now I don’t bother myself about the issue of destiny because it’s an unknown future. Let me just do what ever right I gotta do. And lest I forget, the last thing I’ll ever do in my life is to meet any pastor, prophet or diviner to know about my destiny. Let him worry about his own.

    Like

  2. Hey I am so glad I found your blog page, I really found you by error,
    while I was browsing on Yahoo for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a fantastic post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it
    all at the moment but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read
    more, Please do keep up the superb b.

    Like

Leave a Reply

